My Day at Zumba Basic 1

image1

I have always loved Zumba! So after deciding to run my own classes, I instantly started looking at when I could take the course. Unfortunately there wasn’t a course in Leeds available for months and the closest one to me was in Preston, a 3 hour round trip away but it was in 2 weeks. Two weeks and I could be qualified! So I booked it!

The two weeks leading up to the course seemed to take forever, but eventualy the day arrived. My day began at 6:30am on Sunday 26th June, when the alarm went off, but unlike Monday to Friday I jumped out of bed, excited, anxious and nervous. With a packed lunch and spare clothes I was on my way by 7:30am.

I arrived at 8:50am on a lovely sunny day. Other people were arriving around the same time, dressed in fitness gear and I guessed they must be here for the same reason. Me and a few others headed into a room, lined with mirrors. After signing in, the day began.

I had a lovely instructor, Sandra Bayliss, who was very welcoming and made the whole day fun and engaging. The day started with a Zumba class to wake us all up and demonstarte what our classes should be like.
After the class we were all very sweaty but even more pumped, realising that’s what I would be doing as a job after today.

Once we’d had a rest, we began learning all about Zumba – how it started, who started it and why it’s so great for you mentally and physically. Did you know Zumba was actually created by accident, by a man? We found out so many interesing things about it.

Then came lunch time! I’d taken lots of protein based foods such as nuts and x, as well as flap jack for energy to keep me going through the afternoon.

After lunch we learnt the steps of the basic 4 Zumba rhythems – Salsa, Cumbia, Merengue and Reggaeton. We had time to trial these out to make sure we were doing the step right, as well as, a chance to teach them to someone to practice cueing. This was an invaluable lesson, and helped develp my knowledge of the steps and rhythems.

To end the day we got chance to sign up to the ZIN membership programme which is a great investement. Not only does it give you the license to use any music you can get through Zumba, it also entitled us to get our first set of dances on an instrction DVD so you didn’t have to worry about choreographing your first set of dances.
The day ended at 6pm, with us gaining our certificates, however the last 9 hours felt as if they’d flown by. I met a lot of new people all trying to accoplish the same goal as me. It was a very rewarding day and I’d love to do it all again, in fact it’s just made me more giddy to do even more Zumba courses.
If you’re thinking of becoming a Zumba Instructor but aren’t sure, or would like some advice, feel free to message me and I’d love to help!

Love Han xo


Leave a comment